Search NSGC
Find a GC
Find a Genetic


Awards, Fellowships and Grants

NSGC promotes research, continuing education and professional development to genetic counselors through various sponsored fellowships and grant awards.

Audrey Heimler Special Projects Award (AHSPA)

The Audrey Heimler Special Projects Award (AHSPA) is an annual $10,000 grant that funds a project that focus on the future of the genetic counseling profession and/or the provision of genetic services.

Learn More

Jane Engelberg Memorial Fellowship (JEMF)

The Jane Engelberg Memorial Fellowship (JEMF), established in 1991 as a highly prestigious award of the National Society of Genetic Counselors, is an ongoing tribute to Jane Engelberg in the form of a $90,000 annual grant that funds scholarly investigation, promotes professional development and improves the practice of genetic counseling.

Learn More

Lauren Ryan Genetic Counselor Access Memorial Award

The Lauren Ryan Genetic Counselor Access Memorial Award provides an annual award to one or more current and prospective genetic counseling graduate students. The mission of The Lauren Ryan Genetic Counselor Access Memorial Award is to increase access to the field of genetic counseling for traditionally underrepresented or minority populations through financial support. 

Learn More

Natalie Weissberger Paul National Achievement Award

The Natalie Weissberger Paul National Achievement Award is the most distinguished honor within the National Society of Genetic Counselors (NSGC). This award, bestowed annually, honors one outstanding member who has served NSGC with exemplary national achievements and volunteer activities on behalf of NSGC and the profession.

Learn More

NSGC Leadership Awards

The NSGC Leadership Awards are presented annually during the NSGC Annual Conference to acknowledge the actions and behaviors of exemplary genetic counselors, as well as recognizing volunteers for their contributions.

Learn More

SIG Grant Awards

The SIG Grant Awards are supported and funded by the leaders of NSGC's Special Interest Groups for members of their SIGs.

Learn More

State Licensure Grant Awards

The State Licensure Grant Awards provide grant money to support efforts by genetic counselors to establish state-by-state licensure for our profession.

Learn More

Student Research Scholarship

The NSGC Awards Committee is excited to award a $200 scholarship to three genetic counseling students who are conducting thesis research related to justice, equity, diversity and inclusion or cultural humility issues in the genetic counseling profession.

Learn More